Clos des Vignes
du Maynes

En
Ru
France
Bourgogne
Biodynamic agriculture
The Clos des Vignes du Maynes was first recorded on cadastral maps by Burgundian monks. Its origin dates back to 910, the year Cluny Abbey was founded by the Duke of Aquitaine. The domaine was originally owned by the seigneurs of the Château of Cruzille, and then belonged to a farming family for five generations before being bought by Pierre and Jeanne Guillot in 1952. The vineyard has therefore never had any chemicals used on it and has always been farmed with the greatest respect for the eart.

Julien Guillot:

From the very outset, my grandfather decided to make wine organically, using no chemicals, herbicides, pesticides or sulphur. My father, Alain, later took over the domaine, keeping the same philosophy. He lectured at the agricultural college in Beaujeu, alongside Suzanne Michon, Xavier Florin, Claude and Lydia Bourguignon and Pierre Rabhi, and was particularly involved in the legislative aspects of organic agriculture. As President of the French national federation of organic agriculture (FNAB), he was responsible for getting the AB (agriculture biologique) organic logo and standards recognised by the then Minister of Agriculture, Philippe Vasseur. I joined the domaine in 1998, which is when I introduced the first biodynamic preparations. I then took over the domaine officially in 2001 and decided to convert the entire vineyard of seven hectares to biodynamic farming.

Joyful and Generous Wines

Julien's aim is to make wines that are to be shared, for people who enjoy drinking wine, who are looking for a generous and pleasant wine. The achieve this, in the wineyard they try to produce stable wines in the most natural way possible. Of course there are risks in such vinification methods, but it is very important that the wines be easily approachable, without any major faults, and with a controlled level of volatile acidity and reduction.

Julien thinks that the feeling you get in your mouth is very important: the texture of the wine, its silkiness or velvety touch. He likes the salinity on the palate that brings a sharp minerality, a perfect match with fine cuisine. Julien is looking for finishes that reflect the wine's terroir as authentically as possible. It is essential for the geology to come out in each wine, be it granite, limestone or white clay. The grape variety is actually less important because it simply acts as a vector for the terroir.

Biodynamics: the Cornerstone to Our Farming Methods

In order to continue improving our soils and plants, in 1998 in Clos de Vignes du Maynes carried out their first biodynamic trials. By the second year the results were already surprising and impressive, having seen a great rise in the quantity of organic matter, both in the flora and fauna. For almost twenty years now, in the domaine they have been following the four seasons using this approach. The aim of biodynamic farming is to mirror the plant throughout the year by carrying out specific, tailored tasks: in the autumn, this means the decomposition of organic matter; in the spring, it is its re-activation; then we guide the metamorphosis of this organic matter through the leaves, the sap, the flowers and the fruit. Julien's team's goal is to accompany these different steps using preparations such as horn manure, horn silica, equisetum (horsetail), herbal infusions, etc.

Method: Semi-Carbonic Vinification

Domaine uses the most natural methods possible to vinify the wines: using natural yeasts, no sulphur, no enzymes and no chemical additives. The wooden vats are cleaned thoroughly beforehand, and they are scrubbed with marc de Bourgogne to stimulate the yeasts. During the harvest, which is all done by hand and placed in small containers,they sort the grapes meticulously in order not to damage them during their journey to the winery. For the red wines, they carry out a semi-carbonic maceration, using a very precise method that we have perfected over three generations. The basic principle is to create a multi-layered 'cake' built up of of alternate layers of whole clusters and destemmed grapes. The latter will produce the first juice, which will flow out, start fermenting, and thus activate the natural yeasts (with the sugars), which gives the body and smoothness that are looked for in the wines. At the same time, because the vat is saturated with CO2, an intracellular fermentation also takes place, which brings the elegant floral aromas (rose and peony) that are typical of pinot noir. Then, after four or five days, Julen's team does a very light pumping over as well as a punching down of the cap to a depth of around twenty centimetres. The aim of this is to release the sugars and yeasts; that's the starting signal for the fermentation, which should be long to accompany it serenely.

All the red wines are then matured in barrels or wooden vats. They do not touch the wine until Easter. The racking is done when the moon is both waning and descending, in order for the wine to be as calm as possible. This is done in order to avoid having to filter the wines. Then they are assembled in one vat per cuvee and left to rest for two full moons. Finally, wine is bottled four times a year: once in April for the Cuvée 910; once in July for some cuvées, if it has been hot and the wines are tasting well; once before the harvest and a final one in December for the magnums and jeroboams of the Cuvée Auguste. Unless absolutely necessary, no SO2 is added to the reds before bottling.

The white wines are matured in large vats in order to maintain their freshness and the CO2 level and to avoid having any oaky overtones, which we are not looking for in the wines of the domaine.

The Wines of Clos des Vignes
du Maynes

Другие вина
Clos des Vignes
du Maynes
(+33) 03 85 33 20 15
[email protected]
Rue des Moines, Sagy-le-Haut
71260 Cruzille

Other Growers:

Made on
Tilda

Clos des Vignes
du Maynes

En
Ru
Франция
Бургундия
Биодинамическое земледелие
Кло-де-Винь-дю-Мэн был впервые занесен на карту монахами из аббатства Клюни, основанного в 910 году герцогом Аквитанским. Первыми владельцами виноградников были господа из замка Château of Cruzille; потом на протяжении пяти поколений он принадлежал семье фермеров, пока Пьер и Жиль Гийо не купили его в 1952 году. Эта земля никогда не подвергалась химической обработке и всегда возделывалась с величайшим уважением и заботой.

Говорит Жюльен Гийо:

«С самого начала мой дед решил производить вино абсолютно натуральным способом без химикатов, гербицидов, пестицидов и серы. Мой отец Ален, который унаследовал винодельню, придерживался точно такой же философии. Он читал лекции в сельскохозяйственном колледже вместе с Сюзан Мишон, Хавьером Флорин, Клодом и Лидией Бургиньон и Пьерром Раби. Также мой отец непосредственно занимался законодательным аспектом органической сертификации сельского хозяйства. В качестве президента Французской национальной федерации органического сельского хозяйства (FNAB), он добился у министра сельского хозяйства Филиппа Вассера признания логотипа органического земледелия (AB) и определения его стандартов. Я присоединился к делу моего отца и деда в 1998 году и именно тогда я ввел в обиход биодинамические препараты. Официально я стал главой Domaine des Vignes du Maynes в 2001 году. Я решил возделывать все семь гектаров виноградников согласно биодинамическим принципам.

Легкое и благородное вино

Цель Жюльена — создавать вино, которое приятно разделить с другими; вино для людей, которые любят вино, и ценят благородный и приятный вкус. Для того, чтобы достичь этих характеристик, это вино стараются производить естественным путем. Да, для этого приходится идти на риск, но важнее, чтобы вино было понятным, без серьезных изъянов, с управляемым уровнем летучей кислотности и редукции.

Жюльен говорит, что очень важно ощущение, которое вино оставляет во рту: текстура вина, шелковистость или бархатистость при осязании. Ему нравится солоноватый вкус на небе, который ощущается как минеральность и так хорошо сочетается с «высокой» кухней. Жюльен говорит, что хочет, чтобы финальные ноты вина отражали его терруар как можно полнее: важно, чтобы почвы, на которых произрастает виноград, были выражены во вкусе вина — будь то гранит, известняк или белая глина. Сорт винограда при этом не так важен, потому что он всего лишь носитель терруара.

Основа хозяйства — биодинамическое земледелие

Для того, чтобы сделать почвы и виноградники еще лучше, в 1998 году в Clos des Vignes du Maynes провели свои первые эксперименты с биодинамическими препаратами. В результате которых уже на второй год виноделы были поражены результатами: органический материал улучшился в разы. На протяжении почти двадцати лет этот подход используется по сезонам. Цель биодинамического земледелия — отражать состояние растений в течение года при помощи специально подобранных манипуляций: например, осенью это разложение биологического материала; весной — реактивация, потом тщательно следить за процессами, происходящими с листьями, соком, цветами и плодами. Цель Clos des Vignes du Maynes — участвовать в этих процессах, используя максимально натуральные препараты, такие как навоз, кремнезем, хвощ, травяные сборы.

Технология хозяйства — полу-углеродная винификация

Виноделы Clos des Vignes du Maynes используют наиболее органические методы для производства своих вин: натуральные дрожжи, никакой серы, энзимов или химических добавок. Деревянные бочки тщательно чистятся перед использованием, их также промывают выжимкой из бургундского вина, чтобы стимулировать брожение винограда. Во время сбора урожая, скрупулёзно сортируются ягоды, чтобы не повредить их во время дороги на винодельню. С красными винами применяется метод полу-углеродной мацерации, тщательно отработанный тремя поколениями виноделов. Основной принцип — создать что-то вроде многослойного «пирога», чередуя кисти винограда и отдельные ягоды. Ягоды дадут сок, он вытечет и начнется процесс брожения, таким образом активируются естественные дрожжи (с сахарами), которые в результате придают вину необходимое «тело» и мягкость. Поскольку бочка насыщена углекислым газом, параллельно начинается процесс брожения внутри ягод, который дает вину элегантные цветочные ароматы (роза и пион). Затем, на четвертый-пятый день вино очень аккуратно перекачивается и вдавливается крышка на глубину примерно двадцать сантиметров. Цель этих манипуляций — активировать дрожжи и сахар. Это сигнал к началу брожения; нужно, чтобы этот процесс длился подольше, чтобы без суеты его сопровождать.

Все красное вино Clos des Vignes du Maynes вызревает в деревянных бочках. Его не трогают до Пасхи. Сутираж делается на растущей и убывающей луне, чтобы не волновать вино. Это делается для того, чтобы избежать фильтрации. Потом вино распределяется по бочкам в соответствии с местом сбора и оставляется отдыхать в течение двух лунных месяцев. Наконец, вино разливается по бутылкам четыре раза в год: Cuvée 910 в апреле, для некоторых вин один раз в июле, если было жарко и это вино хорошо на вкус; один раз перед сбором урожая и последний раз в декабре — разливается Cuvée Auguste по бутылкам размера магнум и жеробом. Только в крайнем случае добавляется SO2 к красному вину прежде чем разлить его по бутылкам.

Белые вина выдерживаются в больших чанах, чтобы сохранить свежесть и уровень CO2, а также с целью избежать дубовых ноток, которые не приветствуются в винах Clos des Vignes du Maynes.

Вина Clos des Vignes
du Maynes

Другие вина
Clos des Vignes
du Maynes
(+33) 03 85 33 20 15
[email protected]
Rue des Moines, Sagy-le-Haut
71260 Cruzille
Made on
Tilda