François Ecot

En
Ru
France
Bourgogne
Biodynamic agriculture
François Ecot makes wine in eastern Burgundy south of Auxerre and north of Vezelay. François has old family roots in the area, he now by the way lives in his grandfather's house in Mailly-le-Chateau, but he came back to his wine roots through an indirect landing : François is the French half of François & Jenny, a transatlantic wine import business which is dedicated to artisan wines made the most natural way from healthy vines and soils. He set up his small winery in parallel with the import operation and to this day he keeps managing the company with his former wife Jenny, helping select new vintners in France or Italy.

So, he decided to enrol at the wine school in Beaune in 1998 because they had 8-month trainings for adults there. During his training he met friends who tipped him about Jean Maupertuis, Hervé Souhaut, Henri Milan.

The soil under here is sort of Oxfordian, François Ecot says, clay/limestone (the limestone part being obvious) with a shallow depth going from 15 centimeters to 30, and beneath it you find coral-reef tables, remnants of the sea bed that stood all over here. This geology is older then Irancy and Chablis, which are sedimentations atop of coral reefs. The part of the vineyard where stones surface the most may be the part with the thinnest soil, the meager earth having been flushed further down the slope along the centuries.

Today, François has this parcel which makes 75 ares. He also bought 1,14 hectare on the other side of the village but when asked if he'll get more rights to increase his surface he sighs of disgust, saying that in order to get plantation rights the French administration asks the grower to already have 3 hectares, so there are little chance he gets the green light from the administration even though the terroir of the parcels he is ogling is great and even though he'd sell the resulting wines without problem.
François Ecot
+33 3 86 81 43 92
[email protected]
8 Boulevard du Nord 89660 Mailly-le-Chateau

Other Growers:

Made on
Tilda

François Ecot

En
Ru
Франция
Бургундия
Биодинамическое земледелие
Франсуа Эко производит вина в восточной Бургундии к югу от Осера и к северу от Везле. Семья Франсуа тоже происходит из этой местности, а сам он сейчас живет в доме своего дедушки в Майи-ле-Шато. Однако, путь Франсуа в семейный бизнес был извилист: он начинал партнером в François & Jenny — международной компании по импорту органических вин, произведенных из здорового, качественного винограда. Параллельно с импортом вина, он решил основать небольшую винодельню, и до сих пор совмещает производство вина с управлением компанией François & Jenny, помогая своей бывшей жене Женни выбирать хозяйства из Франции и Италии.

1998 году Франсуа поступает на 8-ми месячные курсы в винную школу в Боне, Бургундия. Именно там он нашел друзей, которые познакомили его с винными домами Jean Maupertuis, Hervé Souhaut, Henri Milan.

Почвы здесь принадлежат к так называемому Оксфордскому ярусу, говорит Франсуа Эко, и состоит из глины и известняка (ну, известняк это очевидно) глубиной от 15 до 30 сантиметров, а под ними лежит коралловый риф, оставшийся от доисторического моря. Почвы здесь старше, чем в Иранси или Шабли, почвы которых всего лишь осаждения на коралловых рифах.

Сегодня общая площадь наделов Франсуа составляет 30 гектаров. Также он купил еще 1,14 гектаров земли на другом конце деревни; на вопрос, будет ли он и дальше расширять свои владения, Франсуа со вздохом отвечает, что согласно французским законам, прежде чем просить увеличения территории, у винодела уже должно быть в собственности не менее трех гектаров в запрашиваемом месте, поэтому вряд ли ему разрешат взять еще, хотя терруар великолепен, а со сбытом вина не будет никаких проблем.
François Ecot
+33 3 86 81 43 92
[email protected]
8 Boulevard du Nord 89660 Mailly-le-Chateau
Made on
Tilda